26 turn out for volleyball
There are 26 players turned out for the Prairie Volleyball team this year as they look to continue the success of the last couple of years when they won back-to-back state championships.
Some new players will have to step up though as only seniors Chaye Uptmor and Mykaela McWilliams and junior Angela Wemhoff return from last year’s starting lineup. Juniors Leah Higgins and Sydney Bruner each saw some varsity action last year as well. Rounding out the team are senior Sam Remacle, juniors Darlene Gehring, Nicole Poxleitner and Josie Peery and sophomore Madison Pecarovich.
Making up the JV squad will be junior Alexis Shears, sophomores Ellea Poxleitner, Kristyna Krogh, Jordyn Higgins, Theresa Wemhoff, Anna Vinsova, Madison Hinkelman, Emma Gehring, Alexis Hiler and Sabrina Lustig and freshman Brooklyn Riener. Vinsova was on the team last fall before returning to her home in the Czech Republic. Hiler is the daughter of Stephanie Mader Hiler and had been at Mountain Home.
Some of the JV players will also play in C games with sophomore Koleen Hasselstrom and freshmen Hailey Wilson, Anna Kaschmitter, India Peery and Syndee Bruegeman round out the C team.
Cheyenne Hudson returns as head coach with Marlene Forsmann as assistant coach.
Prairie could battle again for a state berth with usual suspects Troy and Genesee with Lapwai as a contender due to all the athletes there. 
State this year is in Rigby which is near Idaho Falls.
Prairie opens their season with a league matchup at home against Kamiah on Thursday, August 25.

Lady Pirates at Lewiston Tournament
For the second straight year the Prairie Lady Pirates will be competing in the Judy Fong Memorial Invitational Volleyball Tournament at Lewiston this Saturday, August 27.
Prairie will start play in Pool B at Lewiston High School with Lewiston, Kellogg and Pendleton. Their first match will be against Kellogg at 9 a.m.
They will play Lewiston at 10 a.m. and Pendleton at noon.
The top 2 teams in each pool advance to the 6-team championship bracket at Lewiston high School and the bottom 2 advance to the 6-team consolation bracket to be played at Clarkston High School. Bracketed play starts at 2 p.m. and is full double elimination.

Photos from the Jamboree at Grangeville

Mykaela McWilliams blocks a Grangeville spike attempt.

Chaye Uptmor spikes the ball past a Kamiah defender. Also shown is Josie Peery.

Madison Pecarovich goes high for a spike. Also shown are Mykaela McWilliams, 5, and Sam Remacle, 8.

Angela Wemhoff puts a spike past a Grangeville blocker. Also shown is Chaye Uptmor.

Josie Peery goes for a block against Nezperce. At left is Angela Wemhoff.

Mykaela McWilliams winds up for a spike. Also shown is Leah Higgins.

JV time is 6 p.m. with varsity to follow, except where indicated. 
25-Kamiah*, here, C, JV, V, 4 p.m.
27-at Lewiston Tournament
27-JV at Grangeville JV Tournament
30-Genesee*, there, C, JV, V, 5 p.m.
  1-Troy*, there, C, JV, V, 5 p.m.
  7-JV at Sacajawea 9th, 5 p.m.
  8-Lapwai*, here 
10-JV and C teams at Grangeville JV Tournament
13-CV*, here, 4:30 p.m.
13-Orofino, here, 7 p.m., V only
15-Grangeville, there, C, JV, V, 5 p.m.
20-Kamiah, there, C, JV, V, 5 p.m.
22-Genesee*, here, C, JV, V, 5 p.m.
24-Border Battle at Pomeroy
27-Lapwai*, there
29-Troy*, here, C, JV, V, 5 p.m.
  4-Orofino, there
  8-Tri-Match vs. Potlatch* & CV* @ C.V., 1 p.m. V only
11-Grangeville, here, C, JV, V, 5 p.m.
13-Potlatch*, there, C, JV, V, 4:30 p.m.
TBA-District at LCSC
28-29-State at Rigby
*League Game

All games start at 4:30 p.m. except Grangeville games which start at 4:00 p.m.
12-at Kamiah
13-Asotin, here
20-Orofino, here
21-Nezperce, here
27-at Grangeville, 4 p.m.
29-at Asotin
3-Kamiah, here
5-at Orofino
10-at Nezperce
12-Grangeville, here, 4 p.m.
Cottonwood, Idaho 83522


Classified Ads

503 King St.
P.O. Box 157
Cottonwood, ID 83522-0157
or cotchron@qwestoffice.net
Fax 208-962-7131
Template Design by: